Nominations for 2017 awards are now closed.

Nominations for National Awards

Nominations for the 2017 National Awards are now closed. The SAF National Office will contact the nominee only if chosen to be the award recipient.  All other correspondence will be directed to the nominator.

Please contact Lori Rasor with any questions.

It's not too soon to start thinking about nominations for 2018! The deadline will be March 15, 2018.


One of the highest honors for members of the Society, the rank of Fellow is an exceptional recognition bestowed on a member by his or her peers for outstanding contributions and service to the SAF and the profession.
Learn More

Forest Science and Technology Awards

Award in Forest Science

The Award in Forest Science recognizes distinguished individual research in any branch of the quantitative, managerial, and/or social sciences leading to the advancement of forestry.
Learn More

Barrington Moore Memorial Award 

The Barrington Moore Memorial Award recognizes outstanding achievement in biological research leading to the advancement of forestry. 
Learn More

Technology Transfer Award

The Technology Transfer Award recognizes outstanding performance in the areas of technology transfer, implementation and extension.
Learn More

Communications Awards

Outstanding Forestry Journalism Award

The Outstanding Forestry Journalism Award recognizes high quality journalistic coverage of topics that increase the American public's understanding of forestry and natural resources.
Learn More

W. D. Hagenstein Communicator Award

The Hagenstein Communicator Award recognizes an SAF member who leads innovative and exemplary communications initiatives and programs that increase the general public's understanding of forestry and natural resources.  
Learn More

Professional Development Awards

Carl Alwin Schenck Award

The Carl Alwin Schenck Award recognizes devotion and demonstrated outstanding performance in the field of forestry education.
Learn More

John A. Beale Memorial Award

The John A. Beale Memorial Award recognizes outstanding efforts over a sustained period of time by an SAF member in the promotion of forestry through voluntary service to the Society.
Learn More

Gifford Pinchot Medal

The Gifford Pinchot Medal recognizes outstanding contributions by a forestry professional in the administration, practice, and professional development of North American Forestry.
Learn More

Sir William Schlich Memorial Award

The Sir William Schlich Memorial Award recognizes broad and outstanding contributions to the field of forestry with emphasis on, but not limited to, policy and national or international activities.
Learn More

Honorary Membership

The Honorary Membership Award recognizes individuals whose contributions to forestry are viewed as outstanding by their peers. 
Learn More

Young Forester Leadership Award

The Young Forester Leadership Award recognizes outstanding leadership by a young forestry professional in the development and promotion of an individual program or project, or for a sustained leadership role benefiting the practice of forestry and the Society of American Foresters.
Learn More

Leadership Awards

Diversity Leadership Award

The Diversity Leadership Award recognizes outstanding individual achievement leading to innovative and exemplary diversity and inclusion efforts.
Learn More

Employer Leadership Award

The Employer Leadership Award recognizes an employer that demonstrates leadership through consistent support of employee participation in SAF and broad engagement in the profession.

Student Leadership Award

The Student Leadership Award recognizes individual student achievement and leadership at the local, regional, or national level.

Presidential Field Forester Awards 

The Presidential Field Forester Awards recognize foresters who have dedicated their professional careers to the application of forestry on the ground using sound, scientific methods and adaptive management strategies.The awards are presented to individuals who have displayed uncommon talent, skill, and innovative methods to achieve a record of excellence in the application of forest management.
Learn More  

Outstanding SAF Student Chapter Award

The Outstanding SAF Student Chapter Award recognizes the outstand¬≠ing SAF student chapter in the nation and its faculty representative during an academic year.                 

Three student chapters are recognized annually during the SAF National Convention. The first place student chapter will receive a $500 honorarium. All three student chapters will be recognized in The Forestry Source. The school's department head and/or dean, the university president, and the SAF faculty representative will receive notification of the award. 

Learn More