2018 SAF National Award Winners

August 1, 2018 

The Society of American Foresters is pleased to announce the winners of the 12 SAF national awards for 2018. The award recipients will be recognized for their outstanding contributions to the forestry profession during ceremonies at the 2018 SAF National Convention in Portland, Oregon on October 3-7. 

The awards process begins with written nominations and endorsements from peers. The Forest Science and Technology Board or the Committee on Professional Recognition then evaluates the nominations and forwards their recommendations to the Board of Directors for approval. The rigorous review process produces candidates with a national profile and a comprehensive history of sustained contributions to the forestry profession and service to the public. To learn more about each award, click here

Below is a list of award winners. Congratulations to all.

Award Name

Award Winner

Award in Forest Science

James Long

Barrington Moore Memorial

Robert Teskey

Technology Transfer Award

Susan Stout

W.D. Hagenstein Communicator Award

Charles F. Finley, Jr.

Outstanding Forestry Journalism Award

Jason Nark

Carl Alwin Schenck Award

Carolyn Copenheaver

John A. Beale Memorial Award

Joann Meyer Cox

Sir William Schlich Memorial Award

Bettina Ring

Young Forester Leadership Award

Jason Parke

Diversity Leadership Award

Rachel Reyna

Employer Leadership Award

Lone Rock Resources

Student Leadership Award

Jordan Luff