SAF Announces 2020 National Award Winners

September 3, 2020

Congratulations to our 2020 national award winners! The Society of American Foresters has announced the winners of 12 national awards for this year. The recipients will be recognized for their outstanding achievements to the forestry profession during a meet-and-greet at the virtual 2020 SAF National Convention. Learn more about SAF national awards and future nomination cycles here

Below, each award is listed with the 2020 recipient and a brief description of the award. 

  • Award in Forest Science

Recipient: Robert Burns

Award description: Recognizes distinguished individual research in quantitative, managerial, and/or social sciences leading to the advancement of forestry.

  • Barrington Moore Memorial Award

Recipient: Ruth Yanai

Award description: Recognizes outstanding achievement in biological research leading to the advancement of forestry.

  • Carl Alwin Schenck Award

Recipient: Pete Bettinger, CF

Award description: Recognizes devotion and demonstrated outstanding performance in the field of forestry education.

  • Diversity Leadership Award

Recipient: Alex Singleton

Award description: Recognizes outstanding individual achievement leading to innovative and exemplary diversity and inclusion efforts.

  • Employer Leadership Award

Recipient: Resource Management Service LLC

Award description: Recognizes an employer that demonstrates leadership through consistent support of employee participation in SAF and broad engagement in the profession.

  • Honorary Membership Award

Recipient: Kathy Abusow

Award description: Recognizes individuals whose contributions to forestry are viewed as outstanding by their peers.

  • John A. Beale Memorial Award

Recipient: Shelby (Lee) Spradlin, CF

Award description: Recognizes outstanding efforts over a sustained period by an SAF member in the promotion of forestry through voluntary service to the Society.

  • Outstanding Forestry Journalism Award

Alex Paul

Award description: Recognizes high quality journalism that increase the American public’s understanding of forestry and natural resources.

  • Sir William Schlich Memorial Award

Recipient: Richard Guldin, CF

Award description: Recognizes broad and outstanding contributions to the field of forestry with emphasis on policy and national or international activities.

  • Student Leadership Award

Recipient: Samantha Seamon

Award description: Recognizes individual student achievement and leadership at the local, regional, or national level.

  • Technology Transfer Award

Recipient: Jonathan Kays

Award description: Recognizes outstanding performance in the areas of technology transfer, implementation, and extension.

  • Young Forester Leadership Award

Recipient: Nan Pond

Award description: Recognizes an outstanding young leader in the development and promotion of an individual program or project, or for a sustained leadership role benefiting the practice of forestry and SAF.