Field Foresters Recognized at National Convention

November 16, 2017

The Society of American Foresters (SAF) announced 11 foresters from around the country as the recipients of the 2017 Presidential Field Forester Awards. They were recognized at the 2017 SAF National Convention, held November 15–19 in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

The award recognizes foresters who have dedicated their professional careers to the application of forestry on the ground using sound, scientific methods and adaptive management strategies.

The recipients of the 2017 Presidential Field Forester Award are:

Lisa B. Naylor, CF
District 1: Inland Empire SAF
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service

Jake Gibbs
District 2: Oregon SAF
Starker Forests

James L. Able
District 3: Northern California SAF
James L. Able Forestry Consultants

Blaine Cook
District 4: Dakotas SAF
USDA Forest Service

Stephen R. Nelson
District 5: Michigan SAF
Weyerhaeuser Company

Robert W. MacMillan, CF
District 6: New England SAF, Yankee Division, Rhode Island
Providence Water Supply Board

Mark R. Webb, CF
District 7: Allegheny SAF, Pennsylvania
Mark R. Webb Company

Shelby L. (Lee) Spradlin, Jr., CF
District 8: Appalachian SAF, Virginia
MeadWestvaco Corporation (retired)

Timothy J. Wilson, CF
District 9: Ohio SAF
Ohio Department of Natural Resources

Kerry G. Thomas
District 10: Southeast SAF, Georgia
Consulting forester

Evan Eugene Austin, Jr., CF
District 11: Louisiana SAF
RoyOMartin Corp.


More information about individual recipients and photos are available. For more information about the Field Forester Awards, click here.