The Society of American Foresters recognizes excellence and outstanding achievements of individuals and organizations in the field of forestry and natural resources.

Each year, through its 14 national, Presidential Field Forester, and Fellow awards, SAF honors scientists, researchers, educators, innovators, leaders, communicators, field foresters, and others that have made significant impact on forestry in the United States and internationally. 

SAF is pleased to recognize our 2020 award winners. 

This page is under construction, please check back for additional stories and photos about our awardees.

National Awards

Award in Forest Science

Robert Burns

Recognizes distinguished individual research in quantitative, managerial, and/or social sciences leading to the advancement of forestry.

Carl Alwin Schenck Award

Pete Bettinger, CF

Recognizes devotion and demonstrated outstanding performance in the field of forestry education.

Employer Leadership Award

Resource Management Service LLC

Recognizes an employer that demonstrates leadership through consistent support of employee participation in SAF and broad engagement in the profession.

John A. Beale Memorial Award

Shelby (Lee) Spradlin

Recognizes outstanding efforts over a sustained period by an SAF member in the promotion of forestry through voluntary service to the Society.

Sir William Schlich Memorial Award

Richard Guldin, CF

Recognizes broad and outstanding contributions to the field of forestry with emphasis on policy and national or international activities.

Technology Transfer Award

Jonathan Kays

Recognizes outstanding performance in the areas of technology transfer, implementation, and extension.

Barrington Moore Memorial Award

Ruth Yanai

Recognizes outstanding achievement in biological research leading to the advancement of forestry.

Diversity Leadership Award

Alex Singleton

Recognizes outstanding individual achievement leading to innovative and exemplary diversity and inclusion efforts.

Honorary Membership Award

Kathy Abusow

Recognizes individuals whose contributions to forestry are viewed as outstanding by their peers.

Outstanding Forestry Journalism Award

Coming soon – notification in progress

Recognizes high quality journalism that increase the American public’s understanding of forestry and natural resources.

Student Leadership Award

Samantha Seamon

Recognizes individual student achievement and leadership at the local, regional, or national level.

Young Forester Leadership Award

Nan Pond

Recognizes an outstanding young leader in the development and promotion of an individual program or project, or for a sustained leadership role benefiting the practice of forestry and SAF.

Presidential Field Forester Awards

Recognizes foresters that have dedicated their professional careers to the application of forestry on the ground using sound, scientific methods and adaptive management strategies.

District 1 – Richard Hopkins, CF
District 2 – Mark Morgans, CF
District 3 – Brian Rueger
District 4 – John Riling
District 5 – Joe Rademacher
District 6 – Mark Tremblay, CF
District 7 – Conrad Franz
District 8 – Stan Warner
District 9 – Greg Bailey
District 10 – Michael Dooner, CF
District 11 – George Tiley, CF

Class of 2020 Fellows

Recognition bestowed on a member by their peers for outstanding contributions and service to SAF and the profession.

M. Teresa (Teri) Batchelor
Ronald Boldenow, CF
Dale Bosworth
William “Wally” Covington
Jib Davidson, CF
Adam Downing
George Foster, Jr.
Jennifer Gagnon
James Guldin
Steven Kallesser, CF
Thomas Martin, CF
James McCarter
Marcus Measells
Timothy Phelps
David Bruce Powell, Jr., CF
George Ramsey, CF
Joe Reddan
Thomas Troxel