The Gregory Award Program

The 2024 application period is now closed.

About the Gregory Award

The Gregory Award commemorates the legacy of G. Robinson (Bob) Gregory by bringing outstanding international students and early-career professionals to the annual SAF National Convention to engage with SAF members, students, and professionals from across the United States. Through this experience, awardees expand their professional networks, explore career development opportunities, and become international ambassadors for SAF. 


Applicants must be:
(1) forestry or related natural resources students or early-career professionals (within 5 years of graduation);
(2) from a country classified by the World Bank as low-income, lower-middle income or upper-middle income; and
(3) working or planning to work in (or positively impact) their home country as a forestry or related natural resources professional.
(4) able to attend the 2024 SAF National Convention in Loveland, Colorado from September 17-20.

*Students currently enrolled in an educational institution in the United States are not eligible. Instead, check out the SAF Student Diversity Scholarship Program.


Evaluation will be based on the following criteria:


Applicants must demonstrate past performance, desire, and/or promise to contribute to their home or host country’s forestry education, government, or industry. 


Applicants must demonstrate potential for future leadership in forestry.

Mission Alignment

Applicants must make the case for how attending SAF's National Convention would benefit them and their professional goals. Applicants should also demonstrate how SAF's National Convention aligns with their current course of study, work, and future goals.

Award Components 

  • A $3,000 scholarship to cover travel and other convention expenses
  • Complementary registration 
  • Convention mentors from the International Forestry Community of Interest

How to Apply

The application for the 2024 Gregory Award has closed as of March 19, 2024. We are currently reviewing applicants. Stay tuned to learn about the 2024 Gregory Awardee.

If you have any questions about the process, please email SAF Professional Development Specialist Autumn Ford at [email protected]

About G. Robinson (Bob) Gregory

The Gregory Award commemorates the legacy of G. Robinson (Bob) Gregory, a pioneer in forest economics and resource development, who always thought of himself as a forester. Bob had a special interest in helping low-income countries develop their forest resources in thoughtful ways for the good of society. With his wife, Ann, Bob traveled much of the world consulting for the Ford Foundation, the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization, and host countries on matters related to forest development. Ann’s intuition and social awareness of cultural attributes of each country were integral to Bob’s success in partnering with individuals, governments, and companies in various cultures and countries.

Give to the Gregory Fund

Funding for the Gregory Award is provided by the Gregory Fund. Future contributions will ensure that more outstanding individuals can benefit from the program. For reference, past awardees are listed below.

Donate Now  

Past Awardees

Data pager
Data pager
Page 1 of 6
 Item 1 to 5 of 26
Show all 26
Award YearRecipient
Data pager
Data pager
Page 1 of 6
 Item 1 to 5 of 26
Show all 26
2023Karuna Karki88180
2022Ms. Sakiratou KARIMOU M93541
2021Mr. Olaoluwa Israel Adetula91434
2021Dr. Arthur Hsin-Wu Hsu86394
2021Mr. Mahtuf Ikhsan91549