The Iowa Society of American Foresters sets the standard in forest management, 
bringing science, best practice, and the best people together to actively shape the future of the profession.



  • We are preparing for a shift in our state society leadership. Tim Krauss will become Chair beginning January 1, 2022. Our Secretary, Phil Chen, and Treasurer, Gretchen Cline have agreed to continue to serve in their current positions. We will need to nominate and confirm a Chair Elect that will serve during 2022 and 2023. For those not familiar, our Bylaws outline that that the Chair Elect serves two years then automatically becomes the Chair for the following two. We will be having a electronic election the week of November 15-19. If you are interested in serving as Iowa SAF Chair Elect, please email Jessica Flatt ([email protected]) no later than Friday, November 12 to get your name on the ballot. You have to be a member of SAF to serve as an officer and to vote in the election.