This distinguished recognition is considered by many SAF members as the highest honor that our professional organization may bestow upon our members.

Ouachita SAF Awards

The awards program of the Ouachita SAF closely mirrors the National SAF awards program. Our awards are similar in category and concept, though the names may be different for several awards. We strive to give credit where credit is due, for exemplary professional achievement and service to our professional organization.

Ouachita SAF members are encouraged to nominate fellow Ouachita SAF members for our awards. We have streamlined the process in an effort to attract a worthy and diverse nomination pool. The process is rather straightforward. Except where otherwise noted for a specific award, individual members may nominate their fellow members, or members may nominate themselves. 

Nominations must include two items. Each must address the award criteria:

1) A biographical sketch of the nominee (not to exceed two pages).
2) One letter of nomination or endorsement from an Ouachita SAF colleague (not to exceed one page). 

Nominations must be received by November 1st. They will be reviewed by the Ouachita SAF Council Members, Fellows and Awards Committee. Recipients will be announced at the next annual Ouachita SAF meeting, and will be presented with an award certificate. 

Please send all nominations to the Ouachita SAF Awards Chair . Nomination materials may also be sent as an e-mail.

Lifetime Achievement Forestry Award

(Mirrors the National SAF's Gifford Pinchot Medal) 

Recognizes a full, solid and meritorious career of outstanding contributions, exemplary actions, and diverse achievement by a forestry professional in the administration, practice, development and advancement of forestry at the local, regional and national level.

Award Recipients

Volunteer Leadership Award

(Mirrors the National SAF's John A. Beale Memorial Award)

Recognizes outstanding efforts over a sustained period of time by an OSAF member in the promotion of forestry through voluntary service to the Society. Nominees must demonstrate a strong continuing commitment to volunteer work supporting the SAF and its members which furthers the cause of forestry. Nominations are only accepted from OSAF state divisions and each state division may nominate only one candidate each year.

Young Forester Leadership Award

(Mirrors the National SAF's Young Forester Leadership Award)

Recognizes outstanding leadership by a young forestry professional in the development and promotion of an individual program or project, and recognizes a young forester in an emerging leadership role benefiting the practice of forestry and SAF. Nominees must be under 40 years of age at the close of the nomination deadline.

Forest Policy Enhancement Award

(Mirrors the National SAF's Sir William Schlich Memorial Award)

Recognizes outstanding leadership and diverse contribution to the practice and profession of forestry with emphasis on forest policy and associated national and/or international activities.

Field Forester Award

(Mirrors the National SAF's Field Forester Award)

Recognize foresters who have dedicated their professional careers to the application of forestry on the ground using sound, scientific methods and adaptive management strategies, and who have a demonstrated creative talent, practical skills, innovative methods, and a consistent professional demeanor to achieve a record of excellence in the application and pursuit of forest management. Nominees must have practiced forestry for at least ten years and may represent any employment sector.

Forestry Educator Award

(Mirrors the National SAF's Carl Alwin Schenck Award)

Recognizes outstanding performance and achievement in the field of forestry education, including devotion to the instruction of forestry; setting high professional and educational standards for students; demonstration of outstanding service to professional education; and development of teaching methods that are characterized by imparting competent knowledge through dynamic communication skills and creative techniques. Nominees must have ten years minimum of professional teaching experience.

Forestry Science Research Award

(Mirrors the National SAF's Barrington Moore Memorial Award and the Award in Forest Science)

Recognizes distinguished research in forestry and disciplines allied to forestry and forest resource management that has resulted in substantial advances in the knowledge and practice of forestry at any level. Evaluation is based on research quality, productivity, innovation, and impact.

Technology Transfer Award

(Mirrors the National SAF's Technology Transfer Award)

Recognizes outstanding professionalism, leadership, innovation, and achievement in technology transfer and extension, assuring that sound technical information becomes available to those concerned, allied, and involved in the management and conservation of forest resources, and successfully implemented at the regional, national, and/or international level.

Outstanding Communicator Award

(Mirrors the National SAF's W.D. Hagenstein Communicator Award)

Recognizes demonstrated innovative and exemplary communications initiatives and programs, in service to the forestry profession and SAF, and/or aimed at increasing the general publics understanding of forestry and natural resources. This may include outreach to SAF members, the media, educators, youth groups, community groups, environmental organizations, and policy makers, as well as the general public.

Outstanding Forestry Journalism Award

(Mirrors the National SAF's Outstanding Forestry Journalism Award)

Recognizes high quality journalistic coverage of forestry and forestry issues that increase the American publics awareness and understanding of forestry and natural resources, utilizing any media format (print, electronic, television, radio).