Fellow Award

The Fellow Award is a prestigious award that recognizes an SAF member for long standing service to forestry at the local, state, and national level. The SAF Fellow is recognized as an ambassador for the advancement of forestry.  Awardees are recognized during their local state society meetings and during the SAF National Convention. 


Individuals must be Professional Members in good standing

Nominations cannot:

  • Include acts performed under contract to SAF, directly or indirectly, as volunteer activities 
  • Be a self-nomination


Nominations will be reviewed upon

  • Significant number of years of sustained commitment to SAF volunteer activities, performed at two (2) or more of the following SAF organizational levels: local (chapter); state; regional (multi-state or voting district); or national.  
  • Exemplary action and sustained leadership over many years in advancing the forestry profession at two or more of the following organizational levels: local; regional; national; or international. Exceptions may be made for unusually notable contributions to SAF or to the forestry profession over a shorter time frame.
Fellows Nomination Packet - 2017
(Microsoft Word Document)

2016 Fellows

Award YearRecipient
2016Mr. Kurtis L. Atkinson61176
2016Mr. Harry E. Bell, CF75650
2016Mr. Robert L. Boyles, CF73586
2016Mr. Brian R. Chandler68245
2016Mr. John M. Hancock, CF69119
2016Mr. Thomas M. Hanson, CF61946
2016Mr. Joshua K. Harrell, CF69240
2016Mr. Andrew J. Hayes, CF74710
2016Mr. Timothy L. Holland, CF74913
2016Mr. Thomas J. Kroll, CF61371
2016Ms. Frances Main, CF75511
2016Mr. Bruno C. Meyer62180
2016Dr. Patrick J. Minogue75429
2016Mr. John J. Ottman, CF73663
2016Ms. Kathryn S. Pyne75156
2016Ms. Rachel R. Reyna, CF62303
2016Dr. Mathew F. Smidt75928
2016Dr. Richard B. Standiford62264
2016Dr. Henry E. Stelzer, CF75158
2016Mr. Richard D. Tholen55902
2016Mr. Robert W. Thomas, CF61837
2016Dr. Hans M. Williams, CF68558
2016Dr. Daowei Zhang72199