New Faces on the SAF Board

November 19, 2020

The Society of American Foresters (SAF) has announced elections results for vice president and four SAF Board positions, with service beginning on January 1, 2021. 

John “Chris” Maisch, CF, of Fairbanks, Alaska, has been elected vice president for 2021. An SAF Certified Forester, Maisch is the director and state forester of the Alaska Department of Natural Resources Division of Forestry. Following his service as SAF vice president, Maisch will serve as president in 2022, and as immediate past president in 2023. 

Starting January 1, four new members were elected to serve three-year terms on the SAF Board of Directors: Chris Schnepf, District 1, of Post Falls, Idaho; Kelly Norris, District 4, from Buffalo, Wyoming; Sarah Wurzbacher, District 7 in Williamsport, Pennsylvania; and Tom Fox, CF, District 10, located in Yulee, Florida.  

The president, vice president, immediate past-present, and 11 elected members (one from each voting district) serve on the board. For a directory of the current board, visit this link.

SAF’s Board of Directors provides leadership and direction to SAF to ensure the achievement of its mission to advance the science, technology, education, and practice of forestry. Included among the board’s duties including reviewing annual and long-range budget projections; serving as a communications link among the members of their voting district; representing SAF to the public; and evaluating the CEO’s performance. 

Congratulations to our new board members!

Learn more about the current SAF Board of Directors here.