National Elections: Welcome the New Faces on the SAF Board!

October 20, 2023

The Society of American Foresters has announced election results for vice president and four board positions, with service beginning January 1, 2024. 

Bettina Ring has been elected vice president for 2024. She is the Virginia State Director for The Nature Conservancy. She has been an SAF member since 1987, served on the Committee on Forest Policy, and has held numerous SAF leadership positions at the state and local levels. Following her service as vice president, Ring will serve as president in 2025 and as immediate past president in 2026. 

Four members were also elected to serve three-year terms on the SAF Board of Directors, starting January 1, 2024: Ed Morgan, District 1; Greg Josten, CF,  District 4; Aaron Cook, District 7; and Scott Sager, CF, District 10. 

The president, vice president, immediate past-present, and 11 elected members (one from each voting district) serve on the board.  

SAF’s Board of Directors provides leadership and direction to SAF to ensure the achievement of its mission to advance the science, technology, education, and practice of forestry. Among the board’s duties include reviewing annual and long-range budget projections; empowering a collaborative and cooperative organization to serve its mission; encouraging open communication to promote continuous improvement; and evaluating the CEO’s performance. 

Congratulations to our new board members!