SAF Announces 2022 National Award Winners

August 18, 2022

The Society of American Foresters is proud to announce the winners of 11 national awards for 2022. The recipients will be recognized for their outstanding achievements in the field of forestry and natural resources and their significant impacts to forestry during the Awards Parade and Meet and Greet at the 2022 SAF National Convention in Baltimore, MD.

Congratulations to our 2022 national award winners!

Barrington Moore Memorial Award in Biological Science
Tim Martin, PhD

Recognizes outstanding achievement in biological research leading to the advancement of forestry.

Carl Alwin Schenck Award
M. Chad Bolding, PhD

Recognizes devotion and demonstrated outstanding performance in the field of forestry education.

Employer Leadership Award
Weyerhaeuser Co.

Recognizes an employer that demonstrates leadership through consistent support of employee participation in SAF and broad engagement in the profession.

Honorary Membership Award
Chuck Leavell

Recognizes individuals whose contributions to forestry are viewed as outstanding by their peers.

John A. Beale Memorial Award
Barry New, CF 

Recognizes outstanding efforts over a sustained period by an SAF member in the promotion of forestry through voluntary service to the Society.

Outstanding Local Unit Achievement Award
Missoula Chapter 

Recognizes the outstanding achievement of a local unit for sustained leadership or a special project benefiting SAF, the forestry profession, and the practice of forestry.

Sir William Schlich Memorial Award 
Gordon Sanders, CF 

Recognizes broad and outstanding contributions to the field of forestry with emphasis on, but not limited to, policy and national or international activities.

Student Leadership Award
Ashley Carter

Recognizes individual student achievement and leadership at the local, regional, or national level.

Technology Transfer Award
Laurence Swan 

Recognizes outstanding performance in the areas of technology transfer, implementation, and extension.

W. D. Hagenstein Communicator Award
David Coyle, PhD

Recognizes an SAF member who leads innovative and exemplary communications initiatives and programs that increase the general public's understanding of forestry and natural resources.

Young Forester Leadership Award
Kelly Norris, CF 

Recognizes an outstanding young leader in the development and promotion of an individual program or project, or for a sustained leadership role benefiting the practice of forestry and SAF.

For additional information on the award winners, keep an eye out for a feature article of this year's award recipients in the September 2022 edition of The Forestry Source

Through our national awards, and Fellow and Presidential Field Forester awards, SAF celebrates and honors scientists, researchers, educators, innovators, leaders, communicators, field foresters, employers, local SAF units, and others that have made significant impact on forestry in the United States and internationally. 

Nominations for 2023 awards
open in January and are due by March 15. If you have any questions, please email [email protected].