This award recognizes high quality journalistic coverage of topics that increase the American public’s understanding of forestry and natural resources. The award includes a honorarium of $500, complimentary SAF convention registration, and up to $500 to cover travel expenses.


This award may be presented to an individual involved in print (magazine, newspaper, book…etc.), television, or radio journalism. Eligible categories are: 

  1. A single story or series on a key forestry or natural resources topic.
  2. A documentary, special in-depth story, or book.
  3. The best coverage of a single subject on a continuing basis.

Nominations must demonstrate all the following:

  • Story-telling ability that builds public understanding, and, if present, visual elements that convey the same story as the narrative.
  • The ability to break down a subject while maintaining the integrity of a topic.
  • Coverage that is useful to key leaders and leads to improved public understanding.
  • The potential to advance forestry science, management, and/or education.
  • The level of impact the media event/ story had on the public including the targeted audiences.

Nomination Form
(Adobe PDF File)
Award YearRecipient
2021Mr. Victor L. Harris52542
2020Mr. Alex Paul89243
2018Jason Nark87445
2016Mr. Kyle Dickman77133
2008Mr. Steven Dunsky78591
2008Mr. David Steinke78592
2007Mr. Jack Elrod78593
2006Ms. Kathleen Preece88108
2005Mr. William W. Keye58437
2004Mr. Tom Kenworthy78595
2003Mr. James D. Petersen52460
2002Mr. Tom Knudson78596
2001Mr. Ian Marquand78597
2000Mr. William W. Keye58437
1998Ms. Patrice Jastrzembski78598